Kuldīga is one of the most charming and magical towns in Latvia. It is a town which has preserved its medieval appearance and charm.

Waterfall Ventas Rumba

The widest naturally formed waterfall in Europe (249 m), associated with a number of legends and historic events. In old days, due to Duke Jakob’s invented fishing devices installed on the waterfall, Kuldīga was known as the city where salmon were caught in the air.

The old brick bridge across Venta

This is one of the longest arched brick bridges in Europe, built in1874 and renovated in 2008. The bridge was built according to Tsarist road standards - 500 feet long, 36 feet wide, allowing two carriages to pass each other on it.

Kuldīga medieval historical centre on the banks of the Alekšupīte (The Old Town)

The only remaining and thus unique ensemble of 17th - 18th century buildings in the Baltic States that encompasses the so called „Latvian Venice” on the banks of the Alekšupīte river. After accomplishing the first round of the Alekšupīte Promenade Project, the bridges over the river have been renovated, the Town Hall Square has been supplemented with a fountain, while Baznīcas street has regained its former beauty.

The Town Garden

The Town Garden is located in the most ancient part of Kuldīga, in the place of the former Livonian Order Castle. The castle was later used by dukes of Courland as their residence and in 1610 Duke Jacob was born there. Nowadays the place has experienced great changes – the park has been supplemented with walkways, a gazebo, viewing platforms and a pond with a fountain. In summer weekends visitors may enjoy watching a movie in the open-air cinema. 22 sculptures of the sculptress Līvija Rezevska can be seen along the paths of the Town Garden. Enthusiasts of geocaching may certainly try their luck and find the hidden geocaches there.

Virtual tour around garden pilsetasdarzs.kuldiga.lv/

Address: Pils iela 5, Kuldīga.

Synagogue building complex

Kuldīga synagogue was built in 1875 during the reign of Tsar Alexander II. The synagogue used to have an adjacent prayer house and a Jewish chapel which have been preserved till nowadays. After remarkable reconstruction work, the synagogue today hosts Kuldīga main library, but the former prayer house has been transformed into the Art House, where various exhibitions and concerts are held frequently. The 3rd floor of the Art House offers well equipped premises for seminars or conferences.

Address: 1905. gada iela 6, Kuldīga.

Liepājas street promenade

Pedestrian street with several unique 17th-20th century buildings, fascinating doors and skylight windows above them demonstrate the development of different architectural styles.

Monument „Teleport”

The monument has been designed by sculptor Gļebs Panteļējevs and architect Andris Veidemanis. Its both sides symbolize different periods of history.The front side, which is made of polished and varnished aluminium cast, represents the 21st century. Yet the back and side parts of the monument, representing the 17th century, are made of rusty cast iron.

The Alekšupīte waterfall

Currently the highest (4,5 m) waterfall in Latvia. At the beginning of 19th century, a paper mill was built next to the waterfall.

The former Kuldīga burgomaster Stefenhāgens’ house

A17th century building. According to a legend, during his stay in 1702 the King of Sweden Karl XII left an unusually large clothes chest (2x2,5 m) in the lobby of this house. It was partly built into a wall and can still be seen today.

Address: Baznīcas iela 17, Kuldīga.

Castle guard’s house

This lodge was built in 1735 using the rocks from the destroyed Duke’s castle. It is situated on the terrace which was formed by the only remaining wall of Kuldīga castle. The last castle guard Bofemēls also lived there. It is also referred to as “the hangman’s house”.

Address: Pils iela 4.

Duke’s pharmacy

One of the few buildings which was built according to German Fachwerk technique. For many years this house served as a pharmacy. It was called the Duke’s pharmacy because the licence for opening it had to be purchased from the Duke.

Address: Baznīcas iela 10, Kuldīga.

Kuldīga’s old Town Hall and the Town Square

A 17th century building and the ancient place of gathering – the marketplace. In the cellar of the building there used to be a prison, which nowadays has been transformed into a pub “Pagrabiņš”.

Address: Baznīcas iela 5, Kuldīga.

The oldest wooden house in Kuldīga (1670)

The oldest preserved wooden building is located by the Alekšupīte river. Its magnificence lies in its front door with a skylight window and on its roof  you can see one of the oldest weathervanes featuring a unicorn.

Address: Baznīcas iela 7, Kuldīga.

Kuldīga District Museum

Although direct evidence is missing, there is a legend that this building was the Russian Pavilion at the exhibition in Paris in 1900. After extensive restoration work the museum re-opened its door to visitors on April 26th 2014.Today the museum offers varied exhibitions. The exhibition on the third floor is devoted to the town's history. The second floor has been designed as an apartment of a rich family living in Kuldīga at the beginning of the 20th century. Visitors are introduced to their daily routine: a dining room, a lady's boudoir, a music room, a kitchen and a master's room where visitors may enjoy Jānis Mētra playing card collection. A comfortable customer service and information centre has been opened on the ground floor.

www.kuldigasmuzejs.lv/

Address: Pils iela 5, Kuldīga.

Planning a trip to Kuldīga? See visit.kuldiga.lv/en/

< SKATĪT AKTUALITĀTES